h1

Derrick Cartwright at Seattle Art Museum

June 1, 2009

I recently had the pleasure of photographing the new Executive Director of the Seattle Art Museum, Derrick Cartwright.  My contact at SAM called me up a couple days in advance and asked me to do a portrait but wouldn”t tell me who I would be photographing till the day of.  It was kind of fun to guess who it would be before hand and definitely added some spice to the preparation and setup. I couldn’t have been happier with the amiable Mr. Cartwright and I thought the photos came out great.

IMG_2324

It turned out the mystery was because no one knew who the SAM board had chosen yet. I got to photograph him a day before the official public announcement of his appointment and we couldn’t take the chance of leaking the information. All very fun and super-secret-spy-agent-photographer!

IMG_2270

IMG_2319

After the announcement the photos showed up on line in news releases, and I’ve been having a great time googleing my own work.

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/culturemonster/2009/05/derrick-cartwright-to-lead-seattle-art-museum.html

Leave a Reply

